Time

I realised that by the end of my radiotherapy treatment I would have traveled 3,888 kilometers, to receive a total of 1,400 seconds or 23 minutes of 6,000 monitor units of radiotherapy.   And it will take me a total of 80 hours on the bus out of a total of 120 hours give or take an hour from start to finish over a period of 20 days!  Talk about a lot of time for just 23 minutes of treatment.. lol of course if I received 23 minutes of treatment in 23 minutes I’d be toast.. literally.

However, things could be a lot worse. I have seen people so sick they are brought down in their hospital beds. I have seen people who are drinking that horrid CT scan water waiting for their CT scan. I’ve seen people with no hair, little hair, ones that can barely talk from throat cancer, ones that are in constant pain. New people, old people, young people. Or with one common goal, to beat cancer.   So no matter how bad my day is, there is always someone who has it worse. All I have to do is look around and thank god I am well enough to laugh and joke and pray for those who aren’t.

If you think you’re having a bad day
think of the man whose wife just passed away
50 years they’ve been together
Now she’s gone for ever.
If you think you’re having a bad day
think of  a soldiers wife,
looking after the kids alone
wondering if her husband is ever coming home.
Think of the hungry, the sick and the poor
or the ones that give up and just cant take anymore.
Think of the thousands around the world
who’ve been diagnosed with cancer
will we live long? will they find a cure?
who can give us the answer?
Throughout your life remember;
each day is a gift worth living
Be grateful for what is right now
And for what you are receiving
There’s always someone out there
who’s day is worse than yours
so be happy you are able to do your daily chores
Tell the ones you love I love you,
always kiss your kids goodnight
to thank your parents don’t forget
and live your life without regret.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Neil Bruce-Merrie
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 08:15:31

    You are a very positive lady and I wish you the best of luck, for any battles in the future. I had two skin cancers removed in 2009, one was malignant. Five months later I found a lump close to where the malignant one had been and returned to the skin doctor. She was surprised to see me and said immediately, ‘that wasn’t there. We checked.’
    After more scans and biopsies cancer mas diagnosed and I was referred to the ENT section. This lump was growing near my right temple and a week or so later I found two more lumps on the right side of my chin, just under the jaw. Cancer of the parotid gland and of the Lymph gland. Both were removed at the end of March and I have had two sessions of Chemo and six weeks of daily radio therapy. I am just healing now. The radio therapy left me with a very red raw area on my face and a very sore, burnt area on my neck. Ian my brother supplied me with a very soft cloth which I wore to keep my shirts off the area. Ian was off enormous help to us during my recovery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

