Disappointed

So much for being back to “normal”..   I went to Nicosia today to have my ultra sound scan on my boobs and they checked my scar and showed me a new lump.  They said it could be scar tissue, a left in stitch or a lymph node or recurrence.  He called for my radiologist Dr who had a good poke and feel and said rather than wait it out I should have an MRI as he found something dodgy around my rib cage. He said that that could be caused from the radiotherapy.

So at 330 I went for an MRI. They are scary. I didn’t take anyone with me as I thought it was just going to be a simple scan.   The chap though was very friendly and kind and I had to put on one of those robes that does not close on the back again. Darn things.  He put me through the tube and I panicked but after some deep breaths I was OK.  They are the noisiest things ever. Various stages of various noises for nearly half an hour and then an injection of fluid to make my vitals show up.     After what felt like ages I was allowed to leave.

Now I have to wait to hear the results which could come on Friday or Monday.  If they tell me over the phone then its good news. If they ask me to go see them, then its not as no one gives bad news over the telephone. Not doctors anyway.

So here I am hoping for good news, its nothing, its just a stitch, its scar tissue everything is normal. God please let it be normal..

MRI unit. A bed you lie on that goes completely into a tube with just your feet sticking out. Feels like an indian drum party around your head!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Zhanna P. Rader
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 14:28:02

    Alethea, that is a disappointment. However, we are not going to panic. 🙂 Indeed, it could be a stitch or a scar tissue. Let us calmly wait for the results – which should be good news.
    Love,
    Zhanna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

