Opinions and experiences

I try not to let things get me down or upset as stress is very bad for you even on a good day, so I stay happy and smile as much as possible.

Since my diagnosis I have read so much about various treatments doctors recommend as in trials, and sites all about melanoma and cancer, giving you suggestions about what to do and what not to do and have even read up an alternative treatments.  I know that many out there to not beleive in alternative doctors and there are also many out there who don’t believe in medicine too. I am somewhere in the middle. I obviously believe in doctors as I had sugery, and radiotherapy but I also went to see a doctor about my immune system about vitamins and all that and she is an alternative doctor.  I thought why not use all guns to fight this thing. 

Unfortunately though someone has been quite against me in all this and I realise he is againt all alternative medicine but that doesnt mean I should be too.  By writing this blog I am not trying to influence anyone in their decisions of what they are to do or not to do. The title of this blog is ME and melanoma. So all my experiences and what I do.  I have not suggested that anyone tries any therapies or goes bunjee jumping or goes to a faith healing church or stop any treatment for an alternative treatment and neither am I selling a miracle cure for Melanoma.. beleive me if it existed and I had it I’d give it out for free.

This person really upset me the first time when I spoke about a book I was reading and recently when I was asking for peoples opinion on alternative treatments.. I am asking for help, not judgement. I will do what ever it takes to stay melanoma free. But I wont shut up, ask my husband.. he has been trying for a few years now to find treatment for my mouth..ha

I went to see my oncologists today. Dr Simos Malas and Dr Philippou are the two doctors that treat me in the Limassol Hospital.  I cant fault the doctors here. They have been so quick to take care of me.  I now have to have another CT scan tomorrow of my brain, neck and pelvis, which means tomorrow at 9 am I have to start driking that god awful anaseed water again. What I wouldnt give to not have to drink that. Its super gross.  My mum and sister are coming for back up in case I start making gagging noises and get thrown out of the cafe.   No amount of positive thinking helps with that.  So perhaps you can help with some positive vibes to get me through it.

So more tests for me. Once they are done I will see my oncologists next week again to decide the next course of action.  Here’s hoping for another clear CT scan 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Richards
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 16:33:19

    Positive vibes coming your way sweetie. I hope this one is clear for you xxx

    Reply

  2. plum duff
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 20:09:41

    fingers crossed , positivity by the ton,looking for clear results.xxx

    Reply

  3. Randi
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 16:14:39

    You just keep doin what your doin. Don’t let those few idiots out there bring you down. Stay away from negative people girlfriend-talk about stress, those kind of people are the worst. I had interferon and if you want to know more you can e-mail me. Just let me know and I will post my e-mail. Although I am in the states i am sure it will be comparable there. Here is to clear scans!!!
    randi

    Reply

  4. Stephen Hayes
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 08:09:10

    The only real harms that can happen with complementary/alternative medicine (CAM) is if people abandon proven effective orthodox therapies in favour of untested remedies, or something toxic like laetrile, or if you spend all your money on something that doesn’t work.

    CAM therapies like aromatherapy oil massage, Bach flower therapies, homeopathy, herbal remedies etc delivered by a sympathetic practitioner of your choice will at least do no harm, as long as false promises are not made, and may give psychological benefits worth having.

    I know of one melanoma blogger who has made it his business to be extremely negative about all CAM therapies. That’s his business on his blog, but nobody has a right to harrass anyone else over their choices in this area.

    kindest regards Stephen

    Reply

    • Mrs Ayres
      Oct 10, 2010 @ 10:01:37

      Thanks Stephen. I agree with you. I believe in the doctors and what ever they have to offer me, but do like my rescue remedy when I’m stressed or anxious. But I am not a doctor therefore cannot suggest what people should or shouldn’t do. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

