Brain tumor

Just when you think things couldn’t get any worse.. they do.

I had another bad headache this morning so I decided to go the general hospital a&e to get some help and insist on a scan. I was soo poorly.

They put me on a drip and said they can’t bring my scan forward as I wasnt an emergency; I hadn’t been in an accident.. so my sister called my oncologist, whilst my mum yelled at the a&e doctor and said what if she’s got a brain tumour? will she be an emergency then? Anyway my oncologist spoke to the doctor and finally I was wheeled in for a brain scan.

Results are I have a brain tumor. 24.2×17.1mm in size in the frontal right side of my brain.

meet Charlie, my brain tumour

 

So this is Charlie. As I already used Bob for my drain I chose Charlie for my tumour, wouldn’t want to get repetitive now would I!

It’s not fair, I’m too young and I want more kids and I want to see my son roll his eyeballs at me when I shout LOVE YOU when I drop him off at high school. Hopefully they will zap Charlie to death, pump me with stuff that will make me go bald and look like something from a zoo and get rid of it and I will do what ever it takes.

For now I have to take cortisone tablets 3 times a day and something for my stomach. So I’m gonna be looking like a puffer fish before long.. yummy.

So once again, I am praying for a speedy recovery, to god, Buddy, Allah and all who are listening to my prayers. Friends unite and pray for me and all the other cancer sufferers out there and for gods sake STAY OUT OF THE SUN!

Wish my news was better.  Will find out more when I see my oncologist.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Richards
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 16:19:12

    Hey sweetie. I’m so sorry to read this, and I hope they can give you something to make the headaches go away.
    Good luck and know we are thinking of you xxx

    Reply

  2. Louise van Rooij
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 19:17:11

    Of course I will pray for you. You are a fighter and I will fight with you !
    Love
    Louise

    Reply

  3. Stephen Hayes
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 20:20:24

    I’m sorry to hear this. Its very brave of you to post this. Hope the meeting with your oncologist goes well. All the best

    Reply

  4. Lesley
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:08:09

    So sorry that your news was not good, a big support hug from myself and my husband kev to you and your family xx

    Reply

  5. Kim
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:21:29

    Gosh, I am so sorry. My heart hurts for you. I hope they can radiate that stinker and he’ll be outta there! And I hope you feel better.

    Reply

  6. Jim Cross
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 07:08:45

    Alethea hello, I have only just heard of your medical problems just to say I truly hope you have a full recovery, you are a very brave lady, and I hope this does not come over too gushing. it is heart felt…we are with you!!

    Jim xxx

    Reply

  7. Diana Georgiou
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 07:59:52

    http://www.whale.to/cancer/essiac.html
    http://cancertutor.com/Cancer/Budwig.html
    http://www.truthquest2.com/cancersalves.htm

    Hi hun, would love to hear from you if you get time, sending you loving thoughts and healing prayers.
    God Bless
    xx

    Reply

  8. Zhanna P. Rader
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 12:10:35

    Dear Alethea, I am deeply saddened by your bad news. I am not a doctor, of course, but from what I know, you need a gamma knife surgery (it’s just a laser-beam procedure, not a surgery) as soon as possible, while the tumor is of a manageable size. (They do not do “gamma knife” with much bigger tumors.) That is, of course, if the location of the tumor is “convenient” for such a procedure. And then you would need to accept any further treatments that doctors suggest to keep melanoma from recurring. You will beat it again, be sure of that. Do not even think of death. It won’t happen. I know a real bad case of melanoma that a young lady (I met) had. She is free of it now, for a year and a half. Please keep us informed about the procedure the doctor will do to rid you of the tumor. My thoughts will be with you at your every step of fighting for your good health.
    Good luck!
    Hugging you tenderly,
    Zhanna

    Reply

  9. Kasia from Poland
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 13:20:14

    We are praying, will be praying, and keep on praying for you…

    Reply

  10. Lloyd & Ann Owens
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 18:01:30

    Dearest Alethea. I hear from my daughter, Sarah, that you’ve had even further disappointing news today. One more mountain to climb, as if you haven’t clambered up enough already. Still, your determination, strength and courage will see you through this. Remember, there’s an awful lot of people out there sending you hugs and love and praying for you.

    On a practical note: we know you have a loving family taking care of you, but there may be times when you need an errand running, or things doing around the house, or childcare, or a lift to get you to/from hospital. Please call on us…we’ll drop everything to do whatever needs doing. Please make a note of these numbers: 99 385218 and 99 389184 and give us a call anytime you need help, day or night. Warm healing hugs from both of us. Lloyd & Ann xx

    Reply

  11. Molly
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 14:38:35

    Dear Alethea

    I’m so sorry to hear of your latest setback. I’m thinking of you and sending you positive thoughts, wishes and hugs.

    To reiterate what Lloyd and Ann have said, if there is anything we can do, all you have to do is ask.

    Lots of love, Molly & Ken xx

    Reply

  12. Markella Costi
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 20:00:57

    Hello Alethea mou,

    I have been very busy lately and haven’t managed to get on-line until now… to say I was shocked and upset when I heard your news is an understatement…

    Alethea mou, I know its easy to say be strong, keep positive and I know that you will – you are an amazing woman who has so much to live for and you will fight this all the way…

    But please remember one thing…. its also ok to be fragile, to be tired, to be scared…. we are all here for you… you have an amazing support system and please don’t feel bad to lean on us when you need to.

    Call me, txt me, email me – Whenever! I am here! Παναγια μαζι σου αγαπη μου. Mxxx

    Reply

  13. Barbara & Maurice Newman
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 20:42:01

    Hello darling
    Following seeing you on Monday at the Heart of Gold when you said you were not well, we had no idea what you are going through sweetheart what can we say you are such a beautiful lady inside and out so we pray your inner strength sees you through all this. I have just found your blog and read your postings and was shocked and saddened at its contents. You are one brave lady we admire you. As you will remember Michelle had Melanoma like you from a mole and then secondary cancer in her lymph glands. She overcame it and has been clear for over 20 years so hold that thought you can do it too. If there is anything you want please let us know we would be only too happy to help. My telephone number is 999417570. All our love you are in our prayers … Barbara & Maurice

    Reply

  14. Angelika
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 00:09:57

    Dear Alethea,
    We wish you all the best and we are praying for you!
    Angelika & Hermann Mischler

    Reply

  15. Michele Lackenby
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 17:36:07

    hello Alethea,

    firstly good names for your tumour and drain, you may think that is a strange thing to say from a person you haven’t even met. i have a dog called Bob and a chinchilla called charlie they do exactly as you say so keep telling your charlie and bob to buggar off and i am sure eventually they will.

    Angels do walk on earth and I am sure they are around you now . Take a day at a time and when that is too much a second by a second. I wish I could take away your pain but instead i send my love and you are in my thoughts so much. I know your are a very precious soul my sister tells me all the time how wonderful and kind you are. Miracles do happen Alethea remember that. I look forward to meeting you for our wild night out, alcohol banned high shoes compulsory!! Take care lots of love michele xxx

    Reply

  16. Lucia Perdios
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 07:50:49

    Hi, I am so sorry to read about your illness. I have had 2 uncles that have had several tumours and a friend of the family is battling her way through for the 3rd time.

    My husbands uncle had a large brain tumour for the 2nd time last year and they told him that it was too close to the centre of the brain to operate. Instead they gave him the Gamma Knife treatment. He was in and out within a day and now has a full bill of health. I am sure you have already heard of this treatment but if not here is a link for the UK http://www.thelondongammaknifecentre.com/
    I wish you well…God bless
    Lucia x

    Reply

  17. George
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:54:53

    Dear Alethea.
    I can honestly tell you that your story is the story i’d like to hear from every person who goes through such moments in their life. My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer 1 year ago.. she had operations, she is currently under chemo and I can’t express how frustrated I am with her for NOT having the mood and spirit to face it like you do. Although this is an extremely sensitive subject for me at the moment , I was so utterly entertained by the way you talk about Bob & Charlie that I want to share something with you! Since I learned the info about my mother, I have been literally roaming the internet learning the most I possibly can about the subject (I considered this a responsibility since I am the only one who can do that for my mother) and I have come across countless articles and talks but I will only refer two of them.
    Firstly I watched an interview of a very successful oncologist in the U.S. who stated very clearly the following words that touched me: “I have met more people in my life that are going to die, than any of you will ever meet. I can tell you that, I’ve seen hundreds of patients.. with all the power and spirit and motivation you can imagine having to face such diseases, and unfortunately they did not make it. Many of them did however. On the other hand, I have seen hundreds of patients who received the news as it had already killed them. The moment they heard about it, they followed the courses of treatment but never believed it would do something to them. None of them, made it. Cancer is a mental fight as well as a physical one.”
    So dear Alethea with your fighting spirit you will get rid of Bob & Charlie & Tom and whatever you choose to! You are a winner and we are with you!

    As a last note. We were suggested from my mothers oncologist in Nicosia to take a certain test which is a genetical analysis of the tumor which gives doctors information regarding how dangerous the tumor is and what is the best way to treat it. I do not know if you have already had this test or somebody told you about it, but in case you haven’t here’s the link for you to read about it. You should probably contact and ask them if there’s another type of this test for your case!! I’d be more than happy to help you get this done as well..
    http://www.oncotypedx.com/en-US/Breast/PatientCaregiver/OncoOverview.aspx
    In my mothers case the results of the test helped doctors define the method of chemotherapy to be followed!! I wish all the best for you! I’ll keep coming back to read your news! Shock them with your courage and strength in Germany!! We ‘ll think about you!

    Reply

  18. Ashley
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 04:28:01

    I had pre-cancerous melanoma removed in 06′. I have a daughter who is 16 months old, and have been married for four years. I just celebrated my 21 birthday. I have always hated being pasty, and used to tan allot. I was just told it has spread throughout my body, all my previous scars will be re-cut open next week and their gonna try and get it out. i have had seziures since about the time it was pre-cancerous.. noone knew why. I seem to joke about it offten and people don’t understand why i am so positive about it. I don’t either when i think about it. I don’t know if i will die, all this stuff says i will… but I don’t understand how and why… it just don’t seem possible to me, I feel normal. weird.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

