9 tumors not 10!

Hello.

So the doctor today told me I only have 9 brain tumours.  That has pleased me lots. Silly really. But its better than 10. This was discovered from the recent CT and MRI scan I had last week.  Fab result.

They are still doing the brain mapping so treatment will not start till Thursday probably the Dr said.   Tomotherapy treatment which is not available in Cyprus is a CT scan machine which will give HIGH dosages of radiotherapy direct to the tumours and kill them as well as any other affected area of metastasis.

I start my chemo tablets the same day I start my radiotherapy too.  I take cortisone tablets still which make me eat like a horse. ALL day. The weight is piling on but I can’t stop eating and its annoying.  Most days I cope but there are days when I feel my body weighs a ton and I cannot move. I’m like a rocking back and forth mess and I last night I didn’t sleep well at all and was awake from 6 am going nuts with worry.  I hate days like that.   But once I manage to pull myself together and eat I am ok.  Food appears to be my best friend at the moment.   Poor Adam gets to deal with a real cow bag sometimes. Snappy as hell one minute and go away leave me alone the next. 

We have been out into Bamberg a few times, fresh air and walks are good for me doctor said cause the cortisone is affecting my joints so now I have a faithful crutch to take everywhere too. I’m a regular pensioner in a 35-year-old body. ha     Bus journey is short and cheap too.   Its very beautiful here.  

I miss my son terribly.  I wish I had brought a teddy of his or top or something so I could snuggle up to at night. I just wanna smother him and cuddle him and kiss him. Skype helps with that a little but doesn’t help the cuddle cravings.

We have found a few supermarkets so we can stock up our little fridge to keep my batteries going throughout the day which helps keep food costs down.  Amazing how much you need when you don’t have a cooker or any facilities to use.  But they do have hot water on tap here so thats somet.

They don’t have tea. Normal tea. They have all the tea you can think of, flavoured, vitamined, minted, sugared, green, bright orange but no normal tea. And sometimes I nice cup of tea makes it all better.  And their toilet paper is SAND paper. I kid you not. NO JOKE its like cheese greater paper. haha And it’s everywhere, even in restaurants.  Hard asses here I swear. haha   So much for my sweethoneybums (those of u know that nickname for me that is).

Still. Everyone is nice.  My german that I did in school years ago stuck with me and I am so pleased cause I can order delivery and I can ask for stuff and communicate basic with everyone.  Not just a pretty face me. ha

Well here are some photos of the clinic.  The hotel is stuck to the left of it, its only one floor though. I single floor hotel. lol

Clinic

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Hotel just on left of clinic

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melanie lackenby allerton
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:22:34

    Hi Alethea, so pleased to hear you only have 9 tumours ;)…you are looking very stylish in the picture, but think you need to get some glittery tape round the crutch LOL.
    I can understand about you missing Christian, he is doing well though and just like you loves the dance floor…new invention scratch and sniff TV : ).
    Still fighting your corner over here, miss you.
    Mel X

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 15:18:47

    hiya hun, do you want me to send you some toilet paper and tea bags???? xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  3. Yvette
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 15:34:44

    good news that the treatment is starting and everthing is heading in the right direction babe… made me chuckle about the toilet paper lol!! glad to see you haven’t lost your humuor honey xx got to keep your spirits high babes…. dont worry about eating a lot… you need your strength so tuck into as much bratwurst as you like!!
    Take care hon xxxx

    Reply

  4. Lloyd & Ann Owens
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 16:12:25

    Great to get your news, Alethea. Nice also to know you’re staying so positive and to see your sense of humour is undiminished. Bet you can’t wait to get your treatments under way. Just want you to know that all in Cyprus are thinking of you often and rooting for you. You probably know the fund-raising is going well. Neil (in particular) and others have done so much, and so many things, to keep the cash rolling in. We’re all so proud of your bravery and stoicism. Hey – love those pink Kickers too 🙂 Lloyd & Ann xx

    Reply

  5. Kelly McGrain
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 16:16:38

    Hello Alethea,
    I have the bar/bistro in Chloraka called TK’S THE SECRET. We raised a very small amount of money for your cause, compared to all the wonderful people here in pafos like Jo King, Cat Chalmers, etc..who have huge hearts. I just wanted to tell you about the dvd “The Secret” which has helped me and others who have had the battle and are survivors-The author, Rhonda Byrne also just put out a new book called “The Power” so if you can find the dvd its truly awesome and the book …well i have no words for what our body and our minds can do-May Joy and Love be with you!

    Reply

  6. Krissy Szczublewski
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 16:24:37

    I have only just begun reading your blogs, and I hope you are okay with this. I watch, daily, for your updates and you are on my mind a lot. I am thinking positive thoughts for you, sending you well wishes and keeping you in my prayers all the way from Buffalo, New York, USA. I hope you will continue to blog so I can follow your progress – your baby is just beautiful, too…

    Krissy

    Reply

  7. Lesley & kev
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 18:47:10

    Hey! Alethea, cant you get Johnson baby wipes? they are a bum saver, it must be like the old Izal paper I used as a kid, a shiny side and a rough side! the only way is up now sweetheart, big support hugs, kevnlesxxxxxxx

    Reply

  8. adrian
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 19:48:39

    hi hun,reading your thoughts and you do make me laugh! Writing is certainly a great skill you have. Chris de burgh has dontaed some nice stuff on your behalf and waiting to hear from cliff richard and others.great news on 9 not ten,i lovethe picture of your crutch lol,and ami and i are thinking of you both x loads of hugs kissesand good energy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  9. Zhanna P. Rader
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 02:42:07

    Alethea, I have just sent you a FB message with the pin number – for your husband to receive my modest sum of money, sent through Western Union. You need to give that pin number to your husband.

    Love,
    Zhanna

    Reply

  10. Trish
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 18:19:26

    We are all still routing for you girl, keep your chin up and really looking forward to meeting you hun xx

    Reply

  11. Audrey M Modestou
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 21:30:55

    Dear Alethea, Its so good to be able to read what is happening – and the way you can see the funny side of things – positive mind – just what you need to get through the days ahead of you – you are an amazing person and will not let anything get you down. Dont worry about the hair going – it will come back – now you can enjoy wearing different wigs – blone one day, red the next. Lots of positive thoughts, prays, best wishes and love being sent to you. Love Audrey and family. xx

    Reply

  12. sally
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 00:21:32

    Hi Alethea
    Just sending you a hug and wishing you well for tomorrow (thursday) when you begin your treatment. Im sure you will be back home with your little one again soon. You look lovely in your photo and well too 🙂
    Keep strong, everyday is another day nearer to being home again
    Much love sally xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

