Treatment time

Hi all

So this is how my days start from now on:

6am take my first anti emetic tablet then sleep till 7 and take my chemotherapy tablets. Then 8am have breakfast and at 9am take my cortisone tablets.  Then at 11am take my second  anti emetic tablet lol  I’m a walking junkie really. Rattle rattle.   I have no side effects, little nausea apart from this huge belly that is fast creaping up on me. I’m a rolley polley. sigh.

Treatment is painless. The mask is really tight though and I can’t talk or have my eyes open as I’m literally strapped to the bed with my head so I cannot move.  Adam is pleased of the invention, he will use it in Cyprus when I wont shut up I’m sure haha   I see lightning in my head throughout treatment which is very odd.  The radiotherapist chap said its rare to happen and of course, trust me to be friggin different. It scared the crap out of me as I wasnt expecting it but other than that it was ok. Quite the show really.   Treatment takes 2.5 minutes for the CT scan which will be done every time and then matched up with the brain for treatment which is 9 minutes total.

They are hoping to treat me on Saturdays too so I can get home quicker. How nice of them. I’ll be back in March in time for my sons 2nd birthday. whoop whoop.

Here are some photos of treatment in a slide show.  No Poseidon this time. And he is actually wearing a skirty thingy so what you all seem to think you SEE you dont. So there. lol

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melanie lackenby allerton
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 19:16:20

    One day down, and one step nearer to getting better.
    trust you to see lightning…bit of a rave going on in your head..nothing changes LOL
    Miss you, see you soon X

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 22:07:29

    Just wanted to let you know where part of those prayers that you feel at night while you’re sleeping are coming from. I found your blog soon after my own melanoma diagnosis in the late summer of 2010, and have been checking in to see how you’re doing a few times a month. Cancer’s a strange thing – I know others who have or have had one form or another, but we seldom actually talk about it. Superstition, maybe, or the possibility that one of us will get worse and one better, creating a gulf between? Whatever it is, I just decided to write to you and tell you – I’m pulling for you! Bet there’s others out there who haven’t written, too. I think of you often throughout the day, and send a little prayer out there to Whoever is In Charge for you, your husband and your wonderful little boy (I have a 4 year old grandson – aren’t little boys a wonder???). Always know that there are prayers and people’s positive energies surrounding you, especially when things look bleakest.

    Reply

  3. Jo King
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 03:26:04

    It looks like a polo mint or a dunkin donut. The mask looks uber claustrophobic. Thinking of you and hope you make it back for Christian’s birthday. We are all rooting for you honey xxxxxx

    Reply

  4. Zhanna P. Rader
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 05:22:23

    You are in good hands, Alethea. I am glad for you.
    Best,
    Zhanna

    Reply

  5. sally
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 00:12:33

    Hello Alethea
    Im so pleased your treatment is underway now.I have been thinking of you. Its good that they can treat you on saturdays too so that you can be home with your lovely little son sooner 🙂
    Isn`t it strange about the lightening effect! i believe you are meant to see that high powered energy that is zapping those tumours dead 🙂 so you know its working:) thats brilliant.
    I hope that you are still feeling well with all your treatment. Remember each day is a step closer to being home again and having those special cuddles from your little one 🙂
    Take care of you.
    Much love
    sally xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

