8 down 12 to go

So the new treatment plan started on Monday.   2. 1/2 mins of ct scan then 20 mins of radiotherapy.This is less strong and better for me and will help my mobility. I have to say the first day was grulling. 20 mins really put me off and when I was finished I dragged myself off the bed straight upstairs to my room to lie down. I was not a happy bunny and it made my face hurt being pinned down for that long.

Today thought I woke up feeling ok, so I thought to myself its only 11 minutes longer. So for the 20 mins I lied there and hummed songs to help pass the time. Cant sing as well I can’t open mouth (probably a good thing) so that actually passed quick. Waited for my purple electric lights and then just a few minutes after I know I am done.   When I was finished I didn’t feel bad at all.  I have golf ball prints all over my face though which is quite funny.

Adam and I went off into town and found this restaurant that does ALL YOU CAN EAT for 4.90!  ALL YOU CAN EAT! That place was made for me.  So I ate ALL I COULD EAT and then we walked for about 1km and a half!  I’m so pleased with myself as my legs have started working again and I felt energized and happy.

So today is a good day for me. Its mind over matter.  But sometimes mind doesn’t work.  So I’m happy when it does.

Tomorrow is a new day. But I’m happy with today and that’s just excellent. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sally
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 00:11:12

    Alethea its lovely to hear you feel better:) you look lovely in your picture.Not long now till you can go home.
    You are always in my thoughts
    Love sally xxxx

    Reply

  2. Zhanna P. Rader
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:38:50

    Hi, Alethea. I am happy you had a good day and that you are feeling better. I hope you will continue feeling better. True, some days may be not as good as others. 😦 That is part of an intensive treatment. But the main thing is that they are “mending” you, and that is great. You are a brave, strong and positive person. And you know that you will win over the melanoma. 🙂 By the way, you look good on all of your pictures. 🙂
    Love,
    Zhanna P. Rader

    Reply

  3. Jo King
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 23:23:39

    Alethea u r AWESOME xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

