Cortisone is my friend..

…..I found out the hard way.

Monday night I woke up at 2am with a headache. Not the kind that you take two Panadol and go back to sleep.  Although I did take two Panadol ha.  But the pain was bad. I did manage to get back to sleep but when I woke up in the morning I was in a state. I couldn’t even get my son dressed for school. So along came my mum as usual bless her. 

By 10 am I was getting worse and worse and I was sick.  Then mum popped by after and we called the doctor and he said I am not to stop with my cortisone yet its too soon as my brain is swollen from radiotherapy. Suggested I take some cortisone.  Then I got even worse and was unable to sit up or eat or drink so I could take my tablets.  Cant explain the pain but its like the worst migraine you have ever had x10 all over your head and eyes.   So we called the doctor again and he said I had to be admitted to the clinic.

Once there I was given a cortisone by drip but the headaches were frequent and long-lasting and I was sick again and again. Eventually I fell asleep from exhaustion and when I woke up at about 430ish I finally felt better.     

What an awful day. I think its the worse day since my diagnosis. My headaches would stop when I was sick before but this time they didnt.  A migraine from 2am till 3pm the next day is enough to send someone mad I think..so cortisone may be bad for my body but its great for my head..

Good news is they allowed me home this morning so I am once again home.

I’ve decided to put my night out on hold till my birthday next month.   

I’ve still got to have 4 courses of chemo tablets starting next week. One week on 3 weeks off and more MRI’s of my brain. 

So that’s all for now.   Back on my cortisone tablets as although they are quite bad for you, they are clearly also good for you.. well in my case anyway.. hurrah for pain free days.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo King
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 14:20:12

    Brave girl xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  2. Lesley & kev
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 16:36:05

    big hugs xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

