Feel like a beached whale!

So i’ve piled on the weight big time.  A whooping 89 kg – 14 stone.. only 6 kgs less than what I weighed when I gave birth to my son.  13 kgs more than what I normally weigh. (I think you get the picture now ha).. before you say its the least of my worries.. its not!

I have to say comfort food did taste nice whilst I was eating it but the extra weight on my knees and heart is not good. I feel so heavy all the time I get out of breath easily, walking up my house stairs is an effort, so may I suggest that you try not to eat crap when taking cortisone. The tablets alone bloat you and well the food just adds to it and the water retention.. arghhhhh

I am starting to train next week and go on a diet. I have never had to diet although I have had the atkins diet before for a couple of weeks. a few years back. But thats not much of a diet, its more like all you can eat meat! lol  Its the kind of diet that either works for you or doesnt and it did for me.  But they say a healthy anti cancer diet, is no sugar and no meat.   Got to have sugar in my tea but I’ll happily skip some meat for some healthy veg.  In fact I’ll do anything to get my old self back.  I tried to tie my straps on my shoes tonight by sitting at the edge of the bed but couldnt do it as my belly got in the way! So my husband had to. How bad is THAT.

Time for a change of lifestyle. Got to fight this stupid disease from every angle. I miss the old healthy me and well she’s not coming back unless I fight for her.

In the meantime.. here is what I look like with no hair.. not quite the yummy mummy image hahaha but its all part of the process. Watch this space for improvement. The only way is up.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 00:47:58

    Hey hunni, I only weigh 3 kg less than just before I gave birth, and I have no excuse, so don’t be too tough on yourself. Let’s do this together…

    Marsha xx

    Reply

  2. Jo King
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 02:12:17

    You are beautiful and cuddly and the weight will go away eventually keep being the inspiration that you are xxx

    Reply

  3. Jo King
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 02:13:43

    Ooh and i’m 13 stone 9 and I’m cuddly too lol xxx

    Reply

  4. sally
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 02:25:57

    Hi Alethea.
    You don`t look anything like a beached whale.. You look like Alethea..wife and mum who is getting better:)
    You look strong and well. I do understand that you see yourself differently because my sister did too (completely different cancer) these damn steroids are a lifesaver but cause so many side effects. Please remember that they are keeping you well and are doing their work until you are stronger again.
    You still look beautiful and well .. Alethea.
    Take care
    Much love to you and your family
    sally xxxx

    Reply

  5. Vicki
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 06:47:06

    Babe you still look fab whatever, fighting the damn disease is higher on your list of priorities just now than looking slim – have you tried honey in your tea instead of sugar?

    Reply

  6. Sue Richards
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 10:58:50

    Hi Alethea – well I have to say, you actually look great – I’ve never seen anyone with no hair and weighing more than they used to actually looking so great! You really do pull it off well.
    I hope that things get better for you, you are in my thoughts. Much love xx

    Reply

  7. Karl M
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 01:50:10

    Hair, weight, and all those other things on the outside don’t matter. It’s the person on the inside that does, and you are simply a fantastic person from inside out. You’re blessed with being strong, kind, a great mum & wife, beautiful, funny, and inspirational, plus a whole lot more.

    Besides, you do actually still look fabulous without hair……wish I could say the same being a fat…balding bloke but hey ho 🙂
    Take care x

    Reply

  8. Vicky
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 08:17:34

    Congrats for your spirit ! !
    Love how you deal with it like just another day .. another fight to give !
    You’ll manage through – anyway you’ve managed the most important thing, beating cancer ..
    It’s amazing all the strength that lies inside us at difficult times….
    Take care .

    Reply

  9. Janice Ruffle
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 13:52:11

    Dearest Alethea,

    Please do not be hard on yourself, you have gone through so much and as you say, “the only way is up”. Remember we all feel blessed to have you back in Cyprus, healing here with your family and friends. Take each day at a time, you are strong and have never allowed anyone or anything to beat you. Most of us would feel honoured just to have your singing ability!

    Your heart shines through to all others too.

    Love & hugs dear friend xxxx

    Reply

  10. Joanna
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 15:26:24

    You are so strong ! all i can say is wow, you are a remarkable woman.
    I wish you are fast recovery X

    Reply

  11. Jacs
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 21:51:29

    Alethea, you truly look great, as others have said- strong, well, – like somebody giving that disease a bl***y good run for it’s money!!It’s all relative, this is what it takes to kick it into touch, drugs are rarely forgiving in their effects, but – small price to pay! Look to the results, look to what the future may now hold!!!! Anyway, I love whales, beautiful, beautiful graceful creatures.

    Keep on keeping on Alethea!

    Jacs x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

