Dont drink and chemo

It was my birthday on the 22nd so I decided it was a good idea to go out and have some fun with my friends and husband.  It was a good night and I allowed myself a few vodka’s and coke.  I didnt get drunk and did quite a bit of dancing too!  And I was the last one standing everyone else went home to bed.. ha

Felt ok Saturday and Sunday but come Monday I was overcome with exhaution and could not get out of bed. Lucky it was bank holiday and hubby looked after Christian for me. Tuesday was the same I slept till 6pm! Most of the week continued with me sleeping.

I went to the doctors yesterday for a blood test, he said I may need a transfusion if low and has prescribed injections 3 times weekly which a nurse will come to. Vitamin supplements to help my nervous system.

Drinking did not help matters especially spirits so I wont be doing that again.   Cant cope with the tiredeness plus its not going to help me get better quicker.

I’ll stick to a glass of red wine.. but I’m off my next course now till the next time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise van Rooij
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 18:50:50

    Hope you feel better soon !!

    Reply

  2. Zhanna P. Rader
    May 01, 2011 @ 11:59:15

    Alethea, I hope the prescribed injections will help you feel better. Please keep us informed. Wishing you full recovery as fast as possible.
    Love,
    Zhanna

    Reply

  3. Debbie Hennessy
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:25:06

    Hello Alethea…
    Just read you post on Bas Ass…and wanted to introduce myself. I am also Stage 4. Originally diagnosed in 2006, unstaged/no primary, after surgery and radiation I progressed to Stage 4 within 9 months. I am blessed to say I am NED since 2008. It’s a rough and rutted road. Don’t get me wrong, I hate Melanoma or any cancer, but my life has been very blessed on this ‘cancer journey’….blessings I never would have known if my life had been otherwise.
    I wanted to wish you the best….and would love to see the word VICTORIOUS listed on your ‘search tags’….
    A melanoma connection is our common denominator….but LIFE will be our Numerator!
    CHEERS….
    Debbie Hennessy
    Chesapeake, VA USA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

