CT scans suck

CT scanning machine

Well I arrived late at the hospital again yesterday because I forgot my doctor’s note at home. I got my bottle of gross water and proceeded to the cafe to drink it. It was awful. We’ve all had to do it, but I don’t know if other countries flavour is as bad as mine? What does yours taste of? A whole litre of aniseed powdery water. Two glasses straight away then one every fifteen minutes. It’s meant to go in via the mouth so it will light up your intestine. I have to say I really struggled. I was gagging all over the place which in turn made me feel really ill.
There were a few others waiting there. This lady told me how her son in law died six months ago from melanoma. Said it all started a year ago by a mole from his back and after they removed it and he had a bone scan and he got told he was ok, he never went back to the doctor. He then got metastasis in his armpit, a very very large lump and after that he just gave up the fight. Said he still went in the sun wasn’t careful and that was that. Sad story.
I didn’t go in to scanning room till about 1130. After the warm pissy feeling was over I was done and someone came in and said, we need to give you an ultra sound. I crapped myself. So did my mum and sister. So off I went to this dark room again with the same doctor who had done my boobs a few months ago and he gave me a neck scan. I watched as he went over something which to me looked scary and I thought that was it. I was done for. But he finished and said all is clear. What a sigh of relief. No sooner had I got off the table then when he got me back on it to check my womb. He said my cervix looks enlarged and that I need to go and see the lady bits doctor. Great I thought. More invasive tests I can’t wait.
So I walked out of the room and my mum, sister and that lady where waiting for me holding their breath. I said ALL CLEAR.. my poor mum must have aged 10 years whilst I was in that ultra sound room. The was a huge waiting list outside you see and the doctor told them all to wait cause he had to check me.
I didn’t leave till 12:20! A long day at a hospital that made me feel drained and rough.
I came home and waited with anticipation to go and see my gynecologist.. NOT. He did my c-section though so I figured he’s seen it all before but no matter how many times you go it really doesn’t get any easier and unless you are a woman you can’t possibly understand how awful it is. The good news is that he said that all appears to be normal but I won’t get my results till Friday next week.
So as far as everyone is concerned I appear to be normal. haha (if only they knew) Official results for CT on Monday and other test Friday.
Today I have a stupid cold and slight chest infection. I feel hung-over even though I had nothing to drink. It’s the weekend though so that good. Going out with my husband tonight to cheer myself up.
I miss having a job even though with everything that is going on and all the tests I’ve needed I would have been away a lot, its hard trying to find a job in my current situation and I feel very upset that I got fired whilst they all knew I have malignant melanoma to deal with too. But at least I can hold my head high. Ihave applied for a few jobs and still waiting to hear about the other one I went for a few weeks ago as position doesnt open for a while so fingers crossed for that.

I hope you are all having a nice weekend. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 13:08:01

    Morning Alethea,

    Over here, in some hospitals, but by no means all, they do give you orange squash to mix in with the vile aniseed concoction. It helps a bit but not much!

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better this morning and had a good night out with hubby.

    Marsha xx

    Reply

    • Mrs Ayres
      Oct 11, 2010 @ 16:56:40

      Never went out in the end as felt rotten.. much better today though. I think that no matter what you put in that stuff it will still take like poop.. lol thought it only tasted of Aniseed in Cyprus though!? xx

      Reply

Leave a comment